Wormgay Priory

  • Wormgay, Norfolk
  • OSGB – TF 6525 1269


Medieval moated Augustinian Priory.


1189-1199                   Founded by William de Warenne and dedicated to the honour of the Blessed Virgin, the Holy Cross and St. John the Evangelist.

1234                            Before: Ralph was Prior.

1286                            Before: Nicholas was Prior.

1300                            John de Boylound was Prior.

1300                            Nicholas de Elme was Prior.

1315                            Robert de Craneworth was Prior.

1330                            John de Cauntley was Prior.

1349                            Simon de Leverington was Prior.

1349                            Michael de Thornham was Prior.

1355                            Obtained a licence for alienation in Mortain.

1370                            Robert de Fordham was Prior.

1388                            Licence granted to elect a Prior – Hugh de Fynchmain was elected.

1416                            Hugh Watlington was Prior.

1448                            Robert Walsyngham was Prior.

1461                            John Methwold was Prior.

1468                            United with the Pentney Priory.

15th C                          Demolished.

1511                            Passed to Thomas Jennings and Elizabeth Forth.

1537                            Dissolved.

1972                            Field Investigation.



error: Content is protected !!