Medieval town gate. Named after the craft in the area. The river flowed under the western part of the tower.
1613 Used as a prison.
1819 Demolished. A private residence incorporating part of the remaining structure.
1992 Watching Brief.
References & Bibliography.
Batcheller. W. 1845. The New Dover Guide. Batcheller.
Brasier. W. C. 1851. The Picturesque Companion to the Isle of Thanet, Dover, Canterbury, and Parts Adjacent. W. C. Brasier.
Lyon. J. 1813. The History of the Town and Port of Dover and of Dover Castle: With a Short Account of the Cinque Ports. John Lyon.
The Royal Engineers. 1887. Professional Papers by the Corps of Royal Engineers … Royal Engineers Institute. Occasional papers · Volume 12. Royal Engineer Institute.
Walcott. M. E. C. 1859. A Guide to the South Coast of England, from the Reculvers to the Land’s End, and from Cape Cornwall to the Devon Foreland. Edward Stanford.